The Life of Emily Gilmore

Emily Gilmore, Wife of Richard Gilmore, Mother of Lorelai Gilmore, and Grandmother of Rory Gilmore, is by far one of the most complex characters (See bullet 3) I have seen on television. An excerpt from Katie‘s interpretation of Emily Gilmore: “She’s a wealthy housewife, social butterfly, and most interesting of all, a mother who is living with the fact that her only daughter has rejected her.”

Additionally, (this is my favorite thing about her) she organizes social engagements as President of the D.A.R. (Daughters of the American Revolution), and hosts extravagant parties for her entrepreneurial husband.

So a few nights ago, I had a dream: that I was Emily Gilmore – living in that huge mansion, attending Debutante Balls and Cotillions, and consistently interacting with other members of “high society”

I think in the future it would be nice, after I’ve become a successful lawyer and have fulfilled my own dreams, I fulfill my final dream of being an event planner and interior designer. I could arrange grandiose parties for my husband’s business clients and our family friends that would have large turnouts.

Overall it was a very nice dream – it seemed like a nice life to have .. when you can move past the fact that your only daughter couldn’t wait to move away from you.

gilmore-girls-affair-3
GILMORE GIRLS “The Reigning Lorelai” (Episode #416) 

So let’s all raise our glass to the Emily Gilmores in the world, with their admirable strength and unfaltering determination! *clink*

If you liked this post and want to read more, click the follow or subscribe button below!

You can also contact me via email at tumblah28@gmail.com
And follow me on twittertumblr, and pinterest!

xoxo

Sandhya

4 thoughts on “The Life of Emily Gilmore

I would love to hear your thoughts!!

