The State of the Union, Part 2

Hello everyone, thank you for reading this post first of all, and because I just have way too much to say, I’ve split the post into two parts, part 1, and part 2, the one below. Part 1 is heartbreaking; reading it might make you cry, but Part 2 I hope inspires you in this hopeless time.


After conceding, Hillary gave a beautiful speech, one that I’ve printed out and put on my motivation wall. I’ve highlighted the best parts below:

Our campaign was never about one person or even one election, it was about the country we love and about building an America that’s hopeful, inclusive and big-hearted.

And to the young people in particular, I hope you will hear this. I have, as Tim said, spent my entire adult life fighting for what I believe in. I’ve had successes and I’ve had setbacks. Sometimes, really painful ones. Many of you are at the beginning of your professional public and political careers. You will have successes and setbacks, too. 
This loss hurts, but please never stop believing that fighting for what’s right is worth it.
And to all the women, and especially the young women, who put their faith in this campaign and in me, I want you to know that nothing has made me prouder than to be your champion.
And — and to all the little girls who are watching this, never doubt that you are valuable and powerful and deserving of every chance and opportunity in the world to pursue and achieve your own dreams.
Because, you know — you know, I believe we are stronger together and we will go forward together. And you should never, ever regret fighting for that.

Listening to her speech on the way to school no doubt made me cry, but it was also the inspiration that we need. Now, more than ever, it is important to support, love, and care for one another.

Lately there have been many protests and to be honest, I don’t approve of this at all. I definitely think that one should always stand up for what they believe in, but I also believe that there is a time and place for everything.

Seeing all of the burning and the yelling and the violent protests in San Francisco and other places, I get angry. I understand the sentiment of wanting to do more, for wanting to burn things and rant and feel like you’re making a difference, but this is not okay. I don’t like to get involved with political matters on my blog but this is insane. Everyone at these rallies are being angry about being divided and being hateful, which is everything against what Hillary ran for. It’s different protesting for equality and rights, and occupying streets and taking a stand by volunteering and participating in peaceful rallies, but protesting to argue with the outcome of the election.

Doing this is not going to change the outcome. Unfortunately, Donald Trump has won, it’s awful, it’s heartbreaking that such an experienced and qualified woman didn’t win. It saddens me, it makes me feel defeated and disappointed, but you know what? It’s a lesson to be learned.

This entire situation is unreal, but the backlash and the way it escalated is so much worse.

I can’t say that I don’t understand what they’re feeling, I completely do, but this isn’t the right outlet for it. Hillary just gave a concession speech about fighting for what’s right and fight for what we value and what we believe in. Is this what we believe in? Setting fire outside of the Uber building and becoming violent is not okay. How can these people say that they supported someone who always said “Stronger together” when they are dividing it even further? Ultimately, I don’t believe that Hillary Clinton would want to win like this. She would want to win fairly, amicably, and with a clean fight.

My point was not to lecture or judge the people who are doing this, perhaps this is the only way that they know how to handle it, but ultimately we seriously are stronger together.

Let this be a lesson to take more action in the future, to make a difference.

Katie and I were remembering our high school field trip to the Holocaust museum, where at the end of the trip we all had to sign a white slip of paper and give a list of ways that we are going to fight against hate, sexism, racism, and inequality. How easy it is to state that we will make a difference, how we will fight and donate money. In reality, it’s much harder.

It starts with a single step, a single step to change and to make things better

Whenever someone asks me, “what’s your biggest accomplishment?” I don’t say a prize I won, or some competition that I competed in, I say it’s my passion, I feel like one of the most rewarding things that we can do is give back and help those that don’t have the same opportunities and resources as us. All of us get caught up with our own daily nuisances, so we should all try to spend some time and help or donate money for a cause. We all have the power to make a difference, it’s just that first step of getting involved. Then the world is in your hands 🙂

Thank you to everyone who read my two posts 🙂

If you liked this post and wish to see more, click the follow or subscribe button below!
You can also contact me via email at tumblah28@gmail.com
And follow me on twitter, tumblr, and pinterest!

xoxo

Sandhya

4 thoughts on “The State of the Union, Part 2

  1. Thank you for sharing and reflecting on what it seemed like an election that dragged on for many years. First off, I’m glad election season is finally over. I am happy to see a woman presidential candidate in this race, barriers are being broken as we move forward. I have to say that the current tension has been ongoing prior to the election. People are just unhappy with the way Washington is handling everything. In hind sight, it looked like many Democrats did not even go out to vote, which was a problem. Secondly, I think Clinton’s trust was another main concern for most people. Finally, her message did not connect with the younger population. There were many factors that drove more Trump supporters to go out and vote, while Democrats relied on others to vote for Clinton. Let’s move forward and make the best of the current situation.

    Oprah for 2020!

    Like

I would love to hear your thoughts!!

